themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Today’s Post is Brought to You by Ikea March 24, 2014

Filed under: Life Is Good — themamabeth @ 12:03 am

I packed up two of the kids on Friday and we made a quick trip to Phoenix to hit Target and Ikea. Our hodgepodge of random furniture was making me nuts, and that combined with a real need to create just a little bit more space inspired a little shopping spree. I got a chair, bookshelf and two end tables and now I feel like we live in a whole new house. That single bookshelf has freed up so much other space, it is amazing.

 

All of the sudden my living room feels so put together! I have a few more projects to finish up tomorrow (hopefully, Monday is busy for us) and we’ll be golden. It is the end of a looong road of me tweaking and rearranging and I’m sure Jake is going to be very happy to not have to wonder every day if he’s going to come home to all of the furniture rearranged yet again. I can’t imagine the dread he must feel when I pull out the tape measure.

 

We did run into one snag, because going to Ikea at 5:30 on a Friday with two little kids and my mom, who is currently in a sling, didn’t lead to clear thinking, and I actually bought a blue chair rather than the grey one I planned on. So now I have a random blue piece of furniture that doesn’t match a single thing, at least not at the moment. Since I can’t exactly hop back to Ikea to return it, I did the next best thing and ordered new fabric to make new curtains, which will tie in the blue chair. I’m actually kind of happy, because what we have now was my first attempt at curtains so now I have a chance at a re-do so I can fix some mistakes I made the first time around.

 

It is awfully exciting to be done with the decorating stuff. We’ve been here for almost three years, and I think I’m finally satisfied that it is as good as it is going to get.

 

Now I’m ready to move on to the next big project, which is mainly going to center around school. We bought a legit curriculum to do over the summer, so after the house projects are finished up, we’ll jump in to school for real-probably within the next two weeks. Between school, classes and sports, I think it is going to be a really busy summer! But it feels like all of the sudden our whole life is just falling into place and I couldn’t be happier.

 

Leave a Reply

