themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Oh, hi there! August 5, 2013

Filed under: 9 Months,Baby Cakes,Baby Hazel,Homeschool,Life Is Good,Lulu — themamabeth @ 10:21 pm

Whoops. Been awhile, hasn’t it? Seven months and not a word to say? I’ve missed two birthday posts too. Bummer.

Quick catch up…

Hazel turned one. She’s just…the best. She cracks me up with her dramatics (and makes me want to pull out my hair sometimes too). She’s into everything and so very smart; she watches the big kids and tries to do everything they do. Adeline is still fantastic with her and Lucy is learning to get along with Hazel a little better everyday. She’s still not talking much, which is par for the course for my kids. She says “hi doggie” and what we translate as “hi cat”. We didn’t get far with the baby signs with her, although she does know ‘all done’ and ‘milk’. She loves animals as much as Lucy did at this age and luckily all of our pets and occasional friend’s pets have been open to her constant hugging. She’s almost just as affectionate with us as well, which is nice. I don’t remember either of the other two being as huggy.

Lucy. Oh Lucy.  I love this kid so very much but oh my goodness is she ever…Lucy. Some days? Awesome. Other days? I’m researching boarding schools and fearing the teenage years to the point of just wanting to go curl up in bed and not get up until she’s 20. I just feel like I can’t quite figure her out, like there’s something she needs or something she’s trying to communicate to us that I’m just not getting. It’s frustrating, both because I’m not getting her, and also because my not getting her has some terrible consequences as far as her behavior goes, and I’m almost positive it is very much due to her being frustrated a lot of the time.

Adeline is four and a half, and she is very happy about that-we get reminded almost daily. She did three different camps this summer, soccer, pee wee sports, and tumbling. She did really good at the soccer, and I’m thinking her talents do not lie in gymnastics. This fall we’re going to get her onto an actual soccer team. She’s such an easy kid, so much fun to be around and interact with. She’s on a huge ‘be helpful’ kick, and I feel no shame in taking full advantage of that. She’s also really into being polite and using manners lately, which has been fun. I wish I could get her to extend her helpful manners and politeness into her interactions with Lucy though…

Yet-To-Be-Named Baby…She (we don’t know for sure, but you can’t blame me for defaulting to girl) is due in mid-January. She’s to blame for much of the silence over the past few months-the first trimester is always rough. That’s all passing though, so my energy is up and I’m feeling more human. Coupled with the usual first trimester blahs, I’m dealing with depression, which comes and goes. Right now, it is gone (well, ‘gone’), but I’m just coming out of a rough couple of weeks. Between my doctor and I, we decided that the benefits of being on meds were less than the risks the meds pose to the baby, so for now I’m toughing it out with the promise that after I deliver I’ll have an rx in hand, and the understanding that if I stop being able to manage on my own, we’ll revisit the meds conversation.

 

Today was our first day of school-we officially started our homeschool curriculum. I’m really excited, and when Jake got up for work today (he’s on night shifts this week) Adeline told him right away some of the things we talked about. I’m mostly focusing on her right now, and letting Lucy just kind of tag along when she feels like it (which means she participates in the art projects and ignores the rest). I’m trying really hard to be relaxed about it and not be to rigid. I can get so stuck on the way I want things to be, or the way I imagine them to be, and then having them not work out throws me all off. I’m really, really hoping we can get into a good groove with this and it can be our long-term plan as far as school goes. Since we’ve discovered the Parks and Rec programs that give us more social exposure, it is feeling more and more like the homeschool route is going to be possible.

 

So that’s where we are.

 

5 Responses to “Oh, hi there!”

  1. Wow! It’s great to see you back. We’ve missed you. 🙂

  2. Hey, I had heard you were pregnant through the grapevine, congratulations! I’m expecting number three come the end of October… no gender, no name right now… and preparing our homeschool curriculum, though I should have had it done already, Kindergarten is just going to be pretty relaxed, it is the best environment for Caeden to learn in, I tried the whole ‘sit at the table and do this’ with him during his preschool year, and it didn’t go over well, I was always frustrated and he didn’t learn anything until I changed tactics mid way through the year.
    Anyway I’m glad to hear you are doing good, and I’ll be praying your depression issues clear and leave you alone!


Leave a Reply

