themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

But Where’s the Boat? November 7, 2012

Filed under: Mama Says — themamabeth @ 12:28 pm

I signed up for early voting, but never did fill out the ballot and mail it in, so yesterday afternoon the kids and I loaded up to go drop it off at our polling place. I explained to Adeline we were going to vote, and as we were getting back into the car she asked me, “but, where’s the boat?”. The next election will be fun because she’ll be old enough to understand. I am sad to say this is the first year I voted for my candidate, my eight-months pregnant self couldn’t handle the lines last time and I had to leave before I reached the polls.

 

While the election was playing out, I was on Facebook with my other Democratic friends. We kept up a running commentary, starting a little nervous and quickly becoming jubilant. After then results were confirmed, the snark and anger started from the other side.

 

I hope that in these next four years people will be willing to take a good long look in the mirror at themselves and ask if their actions and words are helping or hurting. Based on what I saw last night, I no longer believe that it is the politicians that hold all of the responsibility for the troubles of this country. It is us, the people, who are responsible for the future of the United States. Or perhaps we should just start calling it the States, because there’s nothing united about it anymore.

 

Leave a Reply

