themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Fun Days-Catching Up September 3, 2012

Filed under: Family,Fun and Games,On the Road — themamabeth @ 2:22 pm

I started this post two  three weeks ago. We’ve been busy!

We don’t have a lot of very busy days. We live in a sleepy little town where not a lot goes on.

Yesterday morning I desperately wanted to get out of the house. I usually like my house very much and am quite content there, but yesterday it felt like the walls were closing in on me. So right after breakfast we packed up and headed out. I toyed with the idea of going to town-about an hour away-but I changed my mind and we went to the park instead. (Full disclosure: I put air in my tires and according to the gauges on my dashboard, they were overinflated. I was too scared to drive on them. Jake ended up fixing it for me later.) We might live in a small town, but there is no shortage of parks. We went to the closest one to our house this time, the one Adeline calls the caterpillar park.

When we got there the park was empty-bonus! But right after I found a good shady spot for the baby and the big kids took off to play, another family showed up. Four kids, two adults, and then I saw him. This guy…looked like the Joker from Batman. Green mohawk, facial tattoos, the whole works. Adeline saw him and asked me about him, and I told her that he was someone’s dada, and she was fine with that and went on her way. He brought his kids over-two little boys and a little girl. I kept an eye on him for a couple of minutes, but it didn’t take long for him to go from the semi-creepy guy to just another dad in the park. I felt bad for judging but he was not someone I recognized from around town and there’s not really any reason for someone who doesn’t live here to be here. I desperately wanted to ask him if his life was impacted by the shootings in Aurora since that guy labeled himself the Joker, but I figured that would be rude. When I told my mom about him, her guess was that he’s a rockstar and was visiting our town to stay incognito.

 

The same night as our park visit, we met up with some friends down by the town corrals to barbeque and let the kids ride the horses. The kids were so incredibly thrilled. Lucy still talks about it.

Adeline rides!

Neigh! All she talks about now are the neighs.

 

 

At the museum.

Then the kids and I took a trip to Phoenix to stay with my mom, and visited the children’s museum and a splash park. We came home sick from that trip, so not much has gone on since we’ve been home.

Sick kids.

The kids and I leave again on Wednesday for another week in Phoenix, this time to stay at my dad’s. Then we have another looong trip scheduled for the end of September into October.

 

Leave a Reply

