themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Day 1 July 20, 2011

Filed under: Mama Says,The Pets — themamabeth @ 8:24 am

The new collars showed up in the mail yesterday (a day earlier than I expected, I love Amazon.)

 

I think Daisy’s bark collar might be at least getting her attention, but last night she was outside and something upset her and she kind of went nuts. We’ll give it a few more days and I will try to find out if there is something I can do to supplement it. Barking is hard because I can’t figure out a way to immediately correct her, I’m always too late because she’s well into it before I can get to her.

 

We let Leika wear her new collar last night, but we didn’t use it. The instruction book left something to be desired and I’m not feeling confident about how to use it. I don’t want to make things worse, and this doesn’t feel like something that should be fooled around with, so I’ve got to find some more information before I do any more.

 

I feel more hopeful, maybe this is the crutch I need to really make some good progress.

 

2 Responses to “Day 1”

  1. Good luck! You’ve been working so hard, I just do a lot of wishing and hoping that Stanley will figure it out on his own and not be such an ass. But, he’s almost 10 and set in his ways and hasn’t really recovered from losing his seat as most doted on when the boys were born. I’m thisclose to getting him on anxiety meds. He’s just too much but I could never get rid of him.

    • themamabeth Says:

      They make these little plug in things, they look like air fresheners that are supposed to be really helpful for anxiety. I wonder if it would help him at all? I did test out the collar a little today and it seemed to work, it got her attention at least. I want to make sure I have a really good, solid plan down before I do anything so I don’t confuse her. Really, all I want to be able to do is let her exercise and have some space and freedom.


Leave a Reply

