themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Desperate Times July 18, 2011

Filed under: The Pets — themamabeth @ 1:51 pm

Remember these guys?

 

We’ve made a little progress, but not a lot.

 

We’re just stuck in this …rut…I guess. There’s dogs/people all over the place around here, and since our fence is three feet tall, I haven’t figured out how to get the big dog decent exercise. When I take her out to potty we do laps around the yard, but it isn’t nearly enough for her to actually burn off any energy. So she’s bored and cooped up, and when she is out she is just a huge pain. She chases the cats, counter surfs, barks at nearly every chance she gets. We’re pretty much all miserable.

 

So. I’m doing something I swore I would never do. I ordered one of these from Amazon today.

 

I just don’t know what else to do. She’s about 80% good, but if she gets focused on something, she just won’t listen. And if she jumps the fence, it isn’t like I can go chase after her and leave the kids home alone, so…Yeah. One of those.

 

And honestly? She’s probably better than I give her credit for, Jake has had her out in the yard with no issues, and she’s been in the yard with me and people have walked by and she’s been fine (but she’s been on a six foot leash. And there have been times she’s gotten all worked up and barked). It isn’t like she’s mean, I don’t even really know what I’m worried about happening. I know she doesn’t do well with smaller dogs-other than ours-and I have no idea what she’d do if she came face-to-face with a big dog. She did fine with the other dog that belonged to the lady who was going to adopt her, but then that lady was the type of person who knows how to handle dogs like Leika. What it comes down to is that I don’t feel like I can trust her to come when I call her. That’s the biggest thing, and to me, that’s a pretty darn big problem.

 

Also, we’re going to go out of town next month to visit my mother-in-law and since leaving this dog isn’t an option (separation anxiety), she’s got to come with us. And the reason for this trip? My sister-in-law and her husband are coming too, and they are bringing THEIR dogs. Yeah. I’m going to spend this entire trip babysitting the dog. Fun times!

 

And I totally recognize all of our problems are my own fault. I didn’t socialize her enough when she was young, and I didn’t address the issues we were having at the time. I lived in a house with a fenced yard where she could be free and run. Now, we have two little kids and no yard-running options at the moment. I need to work with her more-try harder, be more consistent. It all falls on my shoulders.

 

For the little dog, I got one of these. The only real issue I have with her is her barking-and she barks at everything. And when she barks, the big dog gets all frazzled. I’m skeptical but hopeful. She’s such a timid little thing that I think it’ll only take once or twice for her to get the picture. (And if it works I wonder if my neighbors would get the hint if I sent them some anonymously…)

 

So unless Cesar Milan shows up on my doorstep in the next few days, we’re resorting to desperate measures. I don’t know what else to do, short of drugging her.

 

We’ll see what happens.

 

Leave a Reply

