themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

June 6, 2011

Filed under: Parenting 101 — themamabeth @ 11:24 am

I have come across very few issues with parenting that I’ve felt really passionate about the way other people do things. Breast milk or formula? I don’t care how you feed your baby. Cloth or disposable? Whatever works for you. Crying-it-out, I have some pretty strong opinions about, but again, that’s such a loose term that it is a tricky controversy. But, for some reason potty training has become My Thing. What the heck? What a random, odd thing to get worked up about.

And the thing is, there’s no way I have any grounds to look sideways at anyone for the way they go about potty training. I haven’t potty trained anyone. Adeline just started going to the potty one day. About a month later, we were 100% pee in the potty, and just recently she’s 100% of the time in underwear. But I didn’t have anything to do with any of it, other than the occasional assistance with getting dressed or undressed or cleaning up. She did it all on her own with very little guidance from us.

I don’t know why it is that I get so worked up about this. It is ridiculous.

 

Leave a Reply

