themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

We’re Here! May 6, 2011

Filed under: Family — themamabeth @ 9:25 pm

Things are slowly but surely coming together. Jake has laid the flooring in the living room and the girl’s room, and it looks fantastic. For .49 a square foot I expected it to look pretty awful, but it is turning out really nice. It helps that he pays such attention to detail. You should SEE some of the cuts he’s made with a table saw circa 1997. He amazes me.  (Also, we’ve spent so much time talking about “flooring” that now Adeline calls the floor “flooring”.)

The house is adorable. The layout reminds me of my grandparent’s house, which probably has a lot to do with my infatuation. The washer and dryer are in the kitchen, and the water heater. I thought it would drive me nuts, but it really hasn’t fazed me so far. I mean, I wish there was some way to make it prettier, but it isn’t consuming like I thought it would be.

The town is itty. Like unimaginably small-a grocery store and the mercantile, a pizza place, Chinese food restaurant, ice cream shop, cafe, bowling alley, library, 1 screen movie theater, public pool, clinic, dentist, hotel, bank, auto parts shop, 1 gas station…and that’s it. There is a single shopping center that houses all of the above. There are a few more restaurants and I saw a hair place in the next town, which is about 5 minutes away.  There is one stop light here. It’s wonderful.

The next town is cute, but a little shabby. I took the girls out the other day and we took some pictures of the old downtown. As we were walking back to the truck, some men who were working on one of the buildings called us back to see some mountain goats (eta: Jake tells me they are big horn sheep, not mountain goats. My bad.)  that had climbed down. We couldn’t see them well and they were telling us the best times to see them, and the best places.  Everyone who drove by waved, and a group of motorcyclists revved their engines for Adeline.  I can’t wait to get back down there without kids so I can explore some more.

I love it here. I love that Jake “going to work” just means I’ll see him in a half a day and not in a week. I love feeling safe. I love that we haven’t had to use the cooler even though the temps have gone over 90. We have trees in our yard-three of them!

There’s so much to be done still, but it is so exciting! So much we can do, so much potential to really make this our home. We’ll be sticking around for several years until we build a house, so there’s no rush, and lots of opportunity to really get comfortable here even though it is a rental. Since food is more expensive up here, I’ve got lots of grand plans to make just about everything from scratch. I’ll try to document everything I do here, because I’m sure there’s going to be some comic failures.

All in all, this is simply awesome. I’m happy.

 

One Response to “We’re Here!”

  1. Samantha Says:

    I’m so incredibly happy to see such a wonderful post! The town you are living in sounds a lot like the one I graduated in, aside from the fact that not all the shopping was in one building… only one stop light and lots of friendly people! I’m so happy for you!


Leave a Reply

