themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Getting Closer April 26, 2011

Filed under: Family,On My Own,On the Road,The Pets — themamabeth @ 8:04 pm

The kids and I survived our trip to the New House and back again. The first night was a little bumpy after the stress of it all caught up with me, but we got through it.

The trip ruined all of the progress we had made with Leika. She’s gone back into hardcore separation anxiety mode and she’s being a massive pain. The new house doesn’t have a proper fence, and she had a hard time dealing with the 20 foot leash I bought for her. I am really hoping that it won’t take too much time for everything to settle down into an acceptable routine. There’s dogs everywhere there, so walking her just isn’t an option until I can figure out how to get her to not flip out every time she sees another dog. I don’t know what we are going to do about her. She’s just not getting any opportunity to do anything anymore, and the worse she behaves, the more often I end up getting mad and putting her in her crate, and the more she’s in her crate, the worse she behaves. I need Cesar Milan, like, yesterday. I’m guessing he doesn’t do courtesy visits without a camera crew, though, so that’s probably out.

The house and the town are both amazing. The house was built in the 50s, it has a cute little front porch and brick walls inside. I’ve always wanted brick walls. There’s one streetlight in town and in the time we were there over the weekend I never actually saw more than one car at the intersection at a time.  It is a lovely, quiet little place and I hated to leave there. Phoenix already seems dirty and overwhelming, and I can’t wait to get back to my new little mountain town.

As far as the actual move goes, I’m getting totally overwhelmed. There’s so much to do, and I just don’t know where to start. And so much of it needs to be done later, or by Jake (like caulking. I am horrible at caulking) that I have these lists scattered everywhere and they just keep getting longer and longer. I have phone calls I need to make and I hate making phone calls so I keep putting them off. I did call and order the a dumpster for the new house, so that’s a start. I need to figure out cable and phone and stuff there too-there is no antenna TV so cable it will be. Or satellite, I guess that’s an option but no one ever seems to be happy with satellite, and I really don’t want to willingly sign up for something that’s not going to work well.

Everything is going to get done, we’re going to move. Everything will fall into place, it always does. Jake is coming home on Thursday and we’re going to be reunited officially, and for good this time. I’m not ever, ever doing this again.

The movie theater. One movie, two showings.

 

Leave a Reply

