themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Day 2 March 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 8:02 am

Day 2 started out miserably. I am already frustrated with the walk situation. WHY won’t she heel for me outside? I know she is capable, I watched her walk beautifully with The Lady (that is what Adeline calls her, so that’s what I’ll use here) both alone and with another dog AND another person. I would say the issue is the stroller, but I really don’t think that is it because we had this issue pre-stroller. She also snapped at Daisy, but I will give her a pass on that one because Daisy did kind of surprise her.

 

I’m trying to remind myself that this isn’t going to be some sort of magical transformation, that it is going to take time. Considering my two huge weaknesses are being consistent and being patient all the time, this is particularly tricky. I just ended up getting MAD today on our walk because it is just so, so defeating when I KNOW both dogs are capable of walking properly and I don’t understand WHY they won’t do it.  I am pretty sure any good progress we might have made last night was probably wiped out this morning, and then some.

 

6:00 PM

Things are continuing to not go well. I am starting to lose hope, right now I am in a ‘they are just JERKS and I don’t even like them’ mindset that I am having a hard time getting past. My mom came over to pick up Adeline for the afternoon and they went nuts. Like almost mean type of nuts, not exited there was a new person type of nuts. That’s not tolerable, at all. And I’m NOT going to try it again when my mom comes back to drop Adeline off, there’s no way in heck. The only thing about that situation was that they didn’t realize there would be someone there-they hadn’t heard her knock and so when I opened the door and she stepped inside they were probably kind of confused, considering the only time we usually open the door they get to go for a walk. My mom said she felt like they must have been picking up on my anxiety and agreed they had been surprised. She’s pretty straightforward and she encouraged me to keep working with them, so she obviously wasn’t too concerned about how they responded to the situation.

 

But then I actually played fetch with Toly, like he went and purposely got a toy that I threw and brought it back to me multiple times, and seemed to be having a good time, so that was cool. But then they lost their minds because someone walked down the sidewalk outside the fence, so that was bad.

 

I feel so lame, wanting to give up already. I just don’t know where the line is-how long we have to struggle before we know it just isn’t going to work.

 

This sucks.

 

Leave a Reply

