themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

In which I kill you with boredom January 15, 2011

Filed under: Family — themamabeth @ 12:49 pm

No, seriously. This is going to be very dull. It’s just stuff that has been bouncing around in my head and I want it OUT so I’m purging here.

Since Adeline was born, we’ve been a one-income family. It is a choice that we made knowing full well that we were going to have to cut corners and pinch pennies. And I’ve gotten darn good at it too. Through all of this, we’ve managed to actually get ourselves into the best financial position we’ve ever been in, even with both of us working full time and no kids. Cutting our income down has opened our eyes to a lot of things, and I think in the long run we will be much better off for it, and I think it is going to benefit our kids hugely.

One of the things that I am struggling with right now as far as saving money goes is coupons. I read several blogs that relate to the best deals and using coupons. And I read them, and pore over them and spend all this time pulling out coupon inserts and scouring them and organizing my coupons, and reorganizing them and making lists and and and. And then I don’t use them. So I just don’t feel like the time I’m putting into this whole coupon thing is giving me enough of a return to keep on doing it. But I can’t let it go,  because I feel like if I do I’m literally throwing away money, because those silly little pieces of paper ARE essentially money if they are used properly.

There just has to be a better way to do this! I think I’m going to go back to the clipping coupons method. Right now I just stick the whole insert into a folder, but then when I think there might be a coupon I can use, I have to spend an hour looking for it through all of those pages, which is frustrating to say the least. I need to go back to cutting the coupons for things we actually buy-I had gotten all caught up in the whole ‘there might be a great deal so keep ALL of the coupons!’ school of thought, but no matter how great the deal is, we just don’t want/use/need a lot of things that have coupons.

So, this week’s goal: get the coupon and grocery situation under better control.  I know I’m spending more than I have to be right now, and there are places that money can be better used.

 

Leave a Reply

