themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Back to Normal December 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 2:44 pm

::exhale::

I’m kind of glad that’s over. What a weekend.

Next year I’m going to do a few things differently, namely more  planning and organizing in advance to prevent feeling stressed, frantic and exhausted and not being able to enjoy myself.

 

Christmas Eve was a little rocky what with Adeline’s refusal to sleep until after ten. She also ended up wearing Halloween pajamas, which bugged the heck out of me. People were shooting off fireworks which freaked out the dogs and made them super, super annoying what with the whining and the jumping on the doors and windows.  I was stressed and frazzled and it just wasn’t fun at all. I had had a picture in my head of what I wanted it to be, and I was so disappointed that it wasn’t working out.

 

Christmas day was much, much better. I woke up in a better frame of mind and was able to relax and just let things happen as they would. It was a fantastic morning, we had a lot of fun letting Adeline open presents and play with each thing as she wanted to.  She really seems to be enjoying her new toys.  Lucy slept through the whole thing. My family got me a DSLR camera (!!!) and my mom got me a cake decorating kit. Two new hobbies! I’m so excited to learn how to do both though, it’s going to be so fun.

 

We had Christmas night at my dad’s, which was a little dicey because Adeline was just kind of done with the day, but it ended up going fairly well. It was lovely to have a meal cooked and served to us, and Adeline got to play outside with her new Tonka truck before dinner. The gifts we got from my dad and Oma were slam dunks, they did such an awesome job shopping for the kids and Jake.

 

Jake just headed out again for another (short!) week at work, and Adeline and I are going to go bake a cake and try our hands at some fancy icing.  The house needs to be put back to rights again before bedtime, just for my own sanity.

 

It was a fun, busy weekend, but I’m glad we’re going to be back to normal now. I’m just too stuck on my routines to be able to settle in and enjoy these crazy holidays.

 

Leave a Reply

