themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Shaken Family Syndrome November 17, 2010

Filed under: Family,Life Is Good,Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 12:25 pm

When I was a little kid, I had a very, very vivid imagination. Things like snow globes were fascinating to me, and I could very easily picture a real little world in there. A real little world that would randomly get picked up and shaken vigorously with no warning.

That’s what life feels like right now. Like we live in a snow globe that keeps getting shaken. And then things settle down, somewhat differently than before, but still settled. Then WHAM! Shaken up again. And during the shaking, I can kind of picture what things are going to look like, but I’m never quite right.

Today at 11:39 AM, there was a shake when Jake called me to fill me in on his job situation. But this time, it was a good one. Jake has a firm start date for his new job. Although we can only make plans for the next three weeks, that’s still more than we were able to plan for at 11:38, so that’s a good start.

It’s been quite the roller coaster over the past few weeks what with the crazy uncertainty, the elation at the new job, the heartbreak when it was kind of snatched out from under us, the frustration of not knowing, and now the hope that everything is going to work out just as we’ve been picturing it.  The whole situation has actually been affecting my physical well-being, so I’m excited to have some resolution so hopefully I’ll get to feeling back to normal.

I’ve got to go make some lists and hopefully get all of the swirling that is going around in my brain under control. But phew. This is better.

Also…kids in purple because November is Prematurity Awareness month. Yeah, it’s blurry and they’re looking in different directions. It’s been that kind of day.

 

3 Responses to “Shaken Family Syndrome”

  1. Samantha Says:

    I just love your analogy about the snow globes, and it seems like something I would have thought of as a kid… though I didn’t… I have felt like that so many times and still feel that way now, even after 9 months of living in San Diego I feel like I’m never going to be able to figure out all the pieces and get things set ‘just so’.
    Before we moved here I was so stressed about my ‘shaken world’ that I actually started shaking myself and couldn’t stop. I worried myself and my husband so badly because I couldn’t stop the shaking… please don’t let yourself get to that point… if you ever need to talk you can find me on facebook I’m almost always around.

    • themamabeth Says:

      Thanks Samantha! I’m actually dealing with all of this craziness surprisingly well, and that is unusual for me. It is kind of turning out to be a fun adventure so far.

  2. ModBarb Says:

    Thank you for blogging about Prematurity Awareness Day (and month!). On behalf of the March of DImes, I want to thank you for helping us to raise awareness and get the word out. We fight for Preemies everywhere – because they shouldn’t have to.
    Thanks again for your support.


Leave a Reply

