themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Look at me go! November 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 8:20 am

Yesterday I “finished” a sewing project-a bag that I swear is my nemesis. I can hear it in there laughing at me as I type this. I’m not sure where it all went wrong, but oh it went very, very wrong. Wonky doesn’t even begin to describe the disaster that was that project. It has such potential though to be super-cute (I’ve found myself using that phrase often lately, and I’m kind of annoying myself with it. Super-cute? Really?) so I will be trying it again. I have some thoughts on both the fabric and the pattern that I’ll take into consideration next time. I can’t wait until I’m good enough to read a pattern and just know what fabric will work best, and see what tweaks will make it easier. (Oh, there are tweaks, I’m sure of it. I’m not capable of following recipes or sewing patterns for some reason.)

I went through and found all of Jake’s shorts and jeans with holes in them and convinced him to let me “get rid of” them which actually turned into me tossing them all into my fabric stash, because I figured they had usable parts, and I’m a borderline hoarder.  So after a Google search for repourpsed jeans (which yeah, I realize-repurposed, maybe I had marine life on the brain) I found two projects.

Toddler jeans and bibs. I’m thinking I can totally knock out the jeans during naptime, and I have visions of some fantastic baby shower gifts consisting of the bibs and matching knitted hats.

I’m going to have to be careful about these up-cycling websites though, this could get addictive.

 

Leave a Reply

