themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Paging Mrs. Cleaver November 8, 2010

Filed under: Family,Life Is Good,Love and Marriage — themamabeth @ 8:19 pm

I’ve always thought I was born into the wrong era. I’m not all about the girl-power or bra burning. I guess I do take the rights and place in society that I enjoy for granted, though, so my impressions are tinged by the fact I’ve never known what it means to not be able to vote, or hold certain positions.

Today was a good day. The type of day that I’ve always imagined is what a housewife is supposed to have. I woke up and had coffee and hung out with the little one, and shortly after, Adeline joined us. We had breakfast and got dressed for the day-make up and all. I even put product in my hair. We had lunch, then nap and took a walk around the neighborhood. Jake came home and played with the kids, and I made dinner-which is where things all kind of fell apart.

The recipe I chose for tonight was possibly too ambitious. I under estimated the time it would take me to get it ready by about 40 minutes. Jake was trying to keep both kids entertained while I burned the bread, and Adeline probably ate about two bites before she just totally fell apart. It took a piece of garlic bread to the forehead for me to call an end to the meal.

My dreams of the Perfect Housewife’s Day crashed the rest of the way down when Jake stepped in and took over the kitchen clean-up to give me a chance to sit down and decompress.

I know why I have this desire to run everything perfectly. Jake works hard so that I can be a stay-at-home-mom, so I feel like I owe it to him to let him come home to a clean house, and to handle the cooking and cleaning. Honestly, compared to what he does all day, my days are a walk in the park (often literally!).  There are days that I have to ask for help, and those days I feel like I have failed somehow.

I’m getting better though. And doing this gives me a sense of accomplishment, which can be hard to come by with us stay-at-home types.

If I keep up on the path I’m on though, I’ll have earned myself a string of pearls.

 

News of the day: Lucy rolled over!

 

4 Responses to “Paging Mrs. Cleaver”

  1. Samantha Says:

    I love reading your blog! I feel like often I’m either going through or will be going through the same things as you. I used to struggle with my ‘wifely role’ lately it has been less difficult, I’ve accepted that I’m not Mrs. Cleaver, and that I wont be, I probably wont have perfect hair EVER.. in fact it takes ten minutes for my hair to fall out of a pony tail and since I don’t spend much time in front of a mirror I never know how bad I look until I find out and then I’m embarrassed. I don’t wear make up hardly ever. The house stays moderately clean and sometimes disaster strikes the kitchen and it takes me days to fix it. I’m horrible at creative organizing, so I never have enough storage space for things to be put in the ‘right place’… BUT my son and my husband are happy, and healthy and eat moderately healthy meals usually prepared by me and not a manufacturer.. for this I’m proud of my stay-at-home status!

  2. Samantha Says:

    I just left a comment or at least I thought I did… but I don’t think it worked. 😦 I just meant to say that I LOVE reading your blog, and I often feel like I am aiming for the same goals as you.


Leave a Reply

