themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

What kind of mother ARE you? November 6, 2010

Filed under: Parenting 101 — themamabeth @ 8:27 pm

The first twenty five or so years of my life, I was just Beth. I didn’t have anything in particular that defined me-no hobbies, no real passions.

Then I had a baby. And I became The Mama Beth. Finally, finally I had something to define me. It is amazing.

Before I had Adeline, I was a nine-to-fiver. I didn’t particularly like my job, but I was good at it. The money was nice, but there was certainly no satisfaction there. It was something I did because I had to.

Now, I’m a housewife, a stay-at-home-mom.

The question has been posed-what kind of mother am I?

I am…

a crunchy mom-I cloth diaper and make my own baby food. I am breastfeeding Lucy. I use vinegar and baking soda to clean.

a mellow mom-my kid regularly eats off the floor.  A container of oatmeal makes a fun inside alternative to a sand box. Kids were designed washable for a reason.

a mom-in-training-every day I learn something new, about my kids, myself or both. I’d like to think I’m improving every day.

a mom with faults-sometimes I lose my patience. Sometimes my voice is louder or harsher than it should be. Sometimes a time out lasts an extra minute.

a happy mom. A content, satisfied mom, but one who is always looking to improve.

I hope that what kind of mom I am is always changing and growing.

 

 

4 Responses to “What kind of mother ARE you?”

  1. erinclot Says:

    You sound like my kind of Mom! It seems like we are all some sort of hybrid- laid back but crunchy. For some reason I see crunchy as being kind of on the alpha-mom side of things. Not sure why, maybe it has to do with always trying to get everything just right for your kids all the time. And I totally relate to kids eating off the floor. While we were on acation Wyatt spent many hours hovering over the floors of every place we were in looking for something to eat. He wasn’t starving and the floors were all spotless, but it’s his thing.

    • themamabeth Says:

      I think that since Adeline’s “siblings” were our cats and dogs for the first 17 months of her life, she’s learned that food on the floor is just as edible as food on the table. She also tries to eat food off of plates like a cat or dog would-no utensils no hands, just eat straight off the plate. What can you do, you know?

      Honestly, I think I tend to the crunchy side because it’s cheaper, and I actually really enjoy trying recipes for laundry detergent (which I hated!) and crazy stuff like that. Cooking from scratch is fun, and I’m genuinely concerned about the environment and our effect on the planet, so I really try to do what I can. I certainly am not hardcore about it though. I love my Coke, and we totally were eating a grocery store cake for our morning snack today.

      • Mandie Says:

        Isn’t it amazing what motherhood does to us? I’m not all the crunchy, but I’m still particular about some things and I’m most definitely the biggest supporter of baby wearing and co sleeping. (Safely, of course.)

        I’m kinda helicoptery. I never dreamed I’d be so “funny” about my child, but I want to be with him ALL the time. My husband complains how we always have to be home by 9 so that D can sleep in his own bed and not spend the night…and I asked him what exactly was wrong with that? I like for my child to be with me, so that I know he’s happy and safe….hey I love my in laws and they love my son, but no one can compete with Mom.

      • themamabeth Says:

        We’re pretty much the same way. Adeline’s never spent the night away from us, and we’ve only been out of town with her twice. After Lucy was born my mom started taking Adeline out once a week. I’m getting more and more used to it, but it is such a huge relief once she’s home with me again. My mom has started hinting at an overnight visit, but I just don’t know if I’m ready. I think I’d be okay with it if she could somehow magic Adeline back into her bed so she’d be home in the morning. It’s just too weird to think of her being gone for so long.


Leave a Reply

