themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Better cite your sources November 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 10:19 pm

After Adeline was born and I was up at all hours of the night, I discovered blogs. I’m not entirely sure who I started reading first, or why. I imagine I stumbled across some mommy blog while doing some sort of Google search or other looking for help with parenting my newborn. (Yes, I WOULD look to Google for help with parenting thankyouverymuch.)

Since then, I’ve started my own blog and become a member of the blogging community. It still kind of blows my mind, the whole concept of blogging, and what it can do for people.

Primarily I stick to Mommy Blogs. That’s just what I’m interested in right now, so that’s what I read. But, from reading Amalah, I found MamaPop.  I don’t typically read the posts there because pop culture isn’t all that interesting to me, but occasionally if my reader is empty I’ll browse through. So today, I found this post which has led me to this.

Essentially what has happened is a magazine has plagiarized a blog post. I know everyone’s motivation for blogging is different, but I’d bet a lot of us have a secret (or not so secret) desire to be published. And I have to wonder what it would feel like to find out you’d been unintentionally published. That must be a little bit heartbreaking for her.

It is pretty amazing to see all of the comments, and the outrage that this has happened. The publication who did this is more or less doomed.  You just don’t screw with the bloggers.

 

Leave a Reply

