themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Being a baby October 3, 2010

Filed under: Baby Cakes — themamabeth @ 10:36 pm

Lately Adeline has decided she wants to be the baby. She’ll come up to one of us and point to herself and say “baby!” and ask to be picked up. Then we’re supposed to hold her cradled like a little baby and rock her and exclaim about how she’s the little baby. She’ll close her eyes and pretend to sleep, then she grins a big ol’ grin and goes about her business.

Considering the fact that my first little baby is about to start potty training and she just really isn’t a baby at all in any way, I’m happy to indulge her.

It’s just crazy how much having kids shows the passage of time.

 

2 Responses to “Being a baby”

  1. Diana Harty Says:

    What’s almost as crazy is that while time is passing, it often feels like it’s not. At least, that’s how it is for me. Sometimes, I feel like I’m just living the same day over and over, and the idea that each day is actually a new and different one each time…makes me reel a bit.

    • themamabeth Says:

      See, you’re braver than I am. I’m afraid to admit the every-day-is-the-same for fear of seeming ungrateful. But yeah, I just recently got out of a huge funk which included me losing my mind over unloading the dishwasher AGAIN. Fortunately I have an understanding husband who took over some of the chores until I was able to pull myself together. Funny thing is-the house STILL hasn’t recovered from my hiatus.


Leave a Reply

