themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

No ‘poo! September 1, 2010

Filed under: Going Crunchy — themamabeth @ 12:52 pm

For the past, oh, 20ish months or so, I’ve been a stay-at-home mom. I decided  that sitting around watching soaps and eating bonbons just wasn’t the lifestyle for me (please, please realize that’s sarcasm) and made it my “job” to alter our lifestyle with the goal being to get us as “green” as I can.  I will admit that more of my reasoning for this is selfish-I want our home and bodies to be as clean and chemical-free as possible and it is way cheaper to live this way, and I see the fact that we’re (hopefully) helping the environment a happy side-effect of our choices.

We’ve done some small things, but we really do have a loooong way to go.

Yesterday it was brought to my attention that hair can be washed without shampoo.  Since one of the hardest things I’ve come across in my mission is how to get rid of the necessary bathroom products and still be socially acceptable, I was very interested.  I found some details here, and tried it out this morning.

And hot dog! It worked! I took a tablespoon of baking soda, mixed it with a cup of tap water in a squirt bottle, and used it to wash my hair. It doesn’t lather, which is kind of odd, but it worked way better than any shampoo I’ve ever used. My hair is soft and shiny, which is pretty unheard of with the bizarre sort-of-curly-but-not issues I have going on right now.

Final verdict: Success! I’ll keep the one last bottle of shampoo I have, and then will buy no more. Score another point for the hippies!

 

2 Responses to “No ‘poo!”

  1. tiff Says:

    I’ve often thought about going green.
    It sounds so lovely to rely solely on natural products.
    I’ve never heard of using baking soda as shampoo. I may just have to give it a whirl.
    Soft and shiny sounds nice.


Leave a Reply

