themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Not all sugar and spice August 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 1:00 pm

Today was one of the not so great days. There’s potential for things to get better-generally when we have bad mornings, the afternoons are pretty good.

I’m finally recovered from a nasty, nasty case of mastitis and really wanted to get my house back under control today. Lucy didn’t sleep well last night though, and then Adeline decided 6 AM was a good time to get up for the day.

It is hard to say when things started to go sour. At some point the day went from going okay to just rotten.  I can’t get caught up on the housework and my vacuum broke.

Finally lunch time rolled around, and I was making Adeline’s food, Lucy was yelling for me to feed her, and Jake showed up to make himself some lunch. There was just too much going on, too much noise, too many people in my kitchen under my feet. I snapped at Jake, threatened to send Adeline to nap without lunch and still hadn’t fed Lucy.

Anyways, Adeline and Lucy are both fed and sleeping and I apologized to Jake. A bowl of ice cream and  some time wasted playing online (and perhaps even a nap for me) means chances are good this afternoon will be a lot better.

 

3 Responses to “Not all sugar and spice”

  1. Molly Says:

    Oh Beth! I’m thankful for friends who are honest about these times. We’ve all been there more than once (ha – more than lots) and it helps so much to know other people deal with it too. Thanks for being open and especially for humbling yourself to admit when you’re wrong and then spin it all with a positive attitude. You’re so awesome. Love to you all!

  2. Samantha Says:

    just wanted to chime in and say I so understand how you feel.. today hasn’t been bad, but I always fall behind in housework on the weekends and on Monday I discovered that though I BADLY needed to do my dishes, there was a clog in the sink.. I called maintenance they showed up pretty late in the afternoon and took FOREVER to get it fixed, but I was happy because they also fixed a leak that I’d called several times about and they hadn’t been able to find it. Then the next day I discovered that when they fixed the other two problems they did something to the garbage disposal and now it is spraying food particles all over under my sink! ERR! So it’s Thursday and I have yet to get all of my dishes done. before the weekend.

  3. themamabeth Says:

    Yeah, having something break is no good. This whole not having a vacuum thing is killing me. Jake said he’d look at it, but he also said he’d change the oil in our cars about six months ago…I really, really need a vacuum though. Did you get your disposal fixed? What a disaster-and how gross to have that under your sink!


Leave a Reply

