themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Conflict June 30, 2010

Filed under: 9 Months,Baby Cakes — themamabeth @ 1:20 am

I’m tired, uncomfortable and cranky. Being nine months pregnant in June in Arizona-well, that was just bad planning on my part. Adeline doesn’t have any concept of what is going on, and she doesn’t understand why my lap disappeared, or why I don’t chase her around like I used to. My patience is thin and most of the time I just want this baby out!

Sometimes though, I think she can take her time. I’m in no rush, right?  One minute I’m so, so excited about the new baby, and the next minute my heart breaks a little bit when I think this could be the last nap that Adeline and I take together, the last breakfast or lunch where it is just her and me. It is just crazy to think that she’s been the sole focus of my life for the past eighteen months, and soon she won’t be. Sometimes it makes me sad, like I’m taking something away from her by making her a big sister.

 

2 Responses to “Conflict”

  1. Angelique Says:

    I just had a baby 4 weeks ago and my son just turned 18 months so I know exactly how you are feeling. I was afraid he’d feel abandoned and replaced. I was worried that he would act out. But so far, it’s been ok. He has acted out and he definitely pushes the envelope when I’m nursing and he knows I can’t just hop up and intervene but he loves his little brother. Every time he wakes up from nap, he looks for the baby. When the baby cries, he gets very concerned and looks at me like “do something about that, mama!” And his first night home with his little brother, he wanted to give him a good night kiss along with mom and dad. Now baby brother gets more good night kisses than we do!!

  2. themamabeth Says:

    Congrats on your new little one! Thanks for that Angelique, it makes me feel better. I’m so worried she’s not going to adjust, and then I feel guilty like I’m saying I don’t WANT the new baby which is obviously not the case. Bah to pregnancy hormones!


Leave a Reply

