themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

First Blood November 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 11:08 pm

We’ve had our first real injury, and everyone survived intact.

She was playing and fell down; she cried, but it was a regular I Fell Down Cry. I went and picked her up, we cuddled for a second and see seemed fine. I was holding her in my lap and she looked up at me and opened her mouth, and it was full of blood.

Gah!

My first instinct was that I didn’t want her to swallow it, so we went to the bathroom to rinse out her mouth. She didn’t get what I was trying to do and we ended up with bloody water all over the place.

Turned out she had managed to bit her upper lip. I have no idea how, she doesn’t have any teeth, but there was a definate mark. It doesn’t seem to be bothering her, and the bleeding stopped amazingly quickly for a mouth wound. It was probably just a little blood, but in my mind it was gushing rivers and it scared the crap out of me.

We survived though, and she’s no worse for the wear-neither am I for that matter.

 

Leave a Reply

