themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

The dada and the baby October 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 2:50 am

Jake is actually the one who brought up us having a baby. That was surprising to me, I always kinda thought that men said OK to babies to get their wives (or whatever) to leave them alone so they could golf or play video games or something.

Then Adeline was born, and he really struggled with the fact that there just wasn’t much he could do for or with her. She needed her mama. It hurt his feelings some I think.

Now. Now though, Jake is a Dad. He’s so, so involved, and in ways that I never imagined he would be. He has always liked to pick out her clothes, he loves taking her places, he reads food labels as closely as I do, he absorbs little bits of info I throw out there-stuff I assume he won’t really care about-and remembers it, and uses it.

This man was meant to be a Dad. It is hardwired into his very being.
 

2 Responses to “The dada and the baby”

  1. chelsea Says:

    Aww, this post gave me goosebumps! It's so wonderful to see them involved, huh? I LOVE that picture, by the way! šŸ™‚

  2. Beth Says:

    Thanks! He pushes her around in that-he calls it her car. I married a good man : )


Leave a Reply

