themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Bah September 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 5:43 am

We’re going to try an experiment. We’re going to try to not buy anything in a can or a jar next time we go to the store.

It’s really no wonder so many people in this country is overweight. Everything has salt added. Or the dreaded high fructose corn syrup. Frozen veggies, tuna and canned tomotoes have salt. Spaghetti sauce has salt and high fructose corn syrup. It is ridiculous. I always kind of assumed that a veggie was a veggie, no matter whether or not it was in a can or a freezer, which was really rather dumb on my part. I’m lucky I don’t weigh 600 pounds what with my awful eating habits and the fact when I do try to be healthy I end up buying processed foods filled with junk.

So…I’m going to process my own damn food. And I’m going to squirrel away my pennies to get what I need to build a small garden this spring. I doubt my HOA will appreciate it if we bring in farm animals, so I’m going to have to get my milk, chicken and beef from the fancy-pants stores so I can get the organic stuff. Which is going to cost a small fortune. But, I’d rather my daughter not sprout boobs at four, so it is a price I don’t mind paying.

 

Leave a Reply

