themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Booooring September 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 11:35 pm

After Adeline was born, I decided to do my part to help the economy and let someone else have my job.

We’re making it, but barely. Actually that’s probably not accurate. We’re really doing quite well, it is just that I’m not adapted yet to our new lifestyle, and I feel like we’re not making it. (I realize that we’re 9 months in to this, I’m a slow learner I guess.)

So some wise friends lent me a book by Dave Ramsey called Financial Peace: Revisited. Seriously, this book is life changing. And Dave Ramsey is brilliant. What he says is so simple, so obvious, and so EASY. It made me feel so much more in control of our finances.

After reading this book, I established some goals, and to get to where we want to be, we are cutting back on some things. Out went the digital cable. My car is next on the chopping block-we have Jake’s paid off car, and my dad’s truck for me and the baby to use, it makes no sense for us to pay for a car.

The most challenging part of this is the grocery/spending money issue. We were spending a fortune every month on groceries and little extras. I got a pretty good handle on that this month, and my goal is to be 100% on budget in October.

It is insane how difficult it is to rein in food spending. Part of the problem is that I have a bad sweet tooth and Jake tends to indulge my every whim, and the other part of the problem is that Jake doesn’t see the big deal in grabbing an energy drink because it’s just a couple of bucks-except those couple of bucks add up fast.

We’ll see how it goes.

Also, there’s another opportunity for us to get a distributing route. The one we were set on before fell through, but there are two possibilities in the future. We’re keeping our fingers crossed!

 

2 Responses to “Booooring”

  1. Amber Liddle Says:

    It is really hard to go to less money! When my husband was in grad school and I lost my job, we had to learn how to live off pennies–no fun. It's amazing how easily those little things really do add up, too. Good luck adjusting!

  2. k8 Says:

    I hate it how Joe doesn't understand how a drink here and there can add up. To make it worse, he smokes, so just about EVERY time he goes into the c-store he'll pick up a drink or two because "it was on sale for just $3!" Bleh.Good luck on the next distributing route!


Leave a Reply

