themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Yum yum everything September 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 5:32 am

It would not be entirely accurate to say that I have food issues, but I am very, very particular. For instance-foods cannot touch. Items on a plate must be kept separate, and if they touch, they don’t get eaten. I am fairly picky, and if I don’t like it, I won’t eat it or anything that it might be in. I am very firm about my food and will only eat on my own terms.

Eating-wise, the kid must take after her father.

We have yet to find something that she won’t eat. Recently consumed: chicken, steak, spinach, salmon, tuna, black beans, pasta, non-pureed little green peas, yogurt puffs, banana puffs, watermelon, raspberries and graham crackers. If we put it in front of her, she eats it immediately with no hesitation. She loves food. At this point, she scoffs at Cheerios and prefers throwing them on the floor to eating them. She does, however, enjoy the floor Cheerios she finds later, which makes me wonder if she’s intentionally throwing them down for her snacking pleasure.

Offering her food from a spoon is an exercise in futility. She wants to feed herself thank you, and an offered spoon instantly gets chucked (unless there is food on it, then she’ll eat the bite prior to chucking the spoon).

Not a day goes by without her amazing me in some way. I had no idea what to expect from this whole being a parent thing, but it seems like it is coming so easily to both Jake and me-it really is very natural to us. I’m loving every second of this and I’ve never looked more forward to the future than I do now.

 

One Response to “Yum yum everything”

  1. Amber Liddle Says:

    My daughter does the same thing–throw things down to save for later. Why does floor food taste so much better than the stuff on the tray??


Leave a Reply

