themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Poopsicles June 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 5:22 pm

I’m so mad right now I could spit.

In September of 2007 I bought a Gateway laptop from Best Buy. Shortly thereafter, the monitor started to flicker, and then it would go out completely. I took it back to Best Buy, and they sent it in for repair. That happened twice more. This February, it happened again, but the store warranty had expired. Gateway advised me that the unit was still covered under their warranty, so I sent it in at my expense for repair.

Guess what happened a few days after the 90-day warranty on the most recent repair expired? Yep. The monitor broke. And guess what company won’t talk to you if your machine is not under warranty? Yep. Gateway.

So, now what? Gateway won’t stand behind their product or their previous workmanship. I have sent two emails to them, both of which they’ve tagged as solved but never took any action on. I spoke to an online technical help person but that was useless since I don’t need technical help, I need customer service. Customer service won’t talk to me because my machine isn’t under warranty any more. Funny, I never realized that being a customer of a company had an expiration date.

I’m going to write a letter to Best Buy to let them know they are selling a product with such inferior customer service. I’m also going to have to buy a monitor for the laptop and hope that it works. And I’m probably going to have to pay Gateway to fix my computer, since that will still be cheaper than buying a new one. In the meantime, I’ll be saving my pennies to buy a new laptop. One that WILL NOT be a Gateway or an Acer.

 

Leave a Reply

