themamabeth's Blog

Figuring it out, one crazy day at a time.

Germs! May 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — themamabeth @ 4:38 am

I’m not a hypochondriac and I’m not a germophobe. But when stories start airing about scary illnesses that are pandemic! I start to get a little weird.
.
Yesterday I attacked the house with a bucket of bleach water. No doorknob or lightswitch was safe. The top of my kitchen cabinets and the fridge are now disinfected. Of course, I ran out of steam so neither bathroom has been cleaned which may have defeated the purpose.

Jake was sent to work yesterday with a pocket sized container of hand sanitizer, and shoes are banished from the house. I insist he washes his hands the second he walks in the door. Overboard much?
.
There’s two forces at work here, and neither one of them are necessarily positive. First off, I’m taking everything the media says to heart. They throw around their scary words and I fall for it hook, line and sinker. Secondly, I’m an awfulizer. I inherited that trait from my dad, and it enables me to see the absolute worst case scenario all.the.time. My logical side reminds me of SARS, Bird Flu, West Nile and all of the other Horrible Diseases that were supposed to wipe out humanity, all of which seemed to flare up and then were controlled. My awfulizing side says that we need to start stocking up on bottled water and canned food.

So tomorrow I’ll finish shampooing the carpet (with vinegar in the water-it’s antibacterial!) and sanitizing the bathrooms. It makes me feel better, I’m doing something about a situation I have aboslutely no control over. Then I’m going to enjoy my clean house and turn off CNN and play with the baby. And try not to worry so much.

 

Leave a Reply

